Groclock is local; Connected requires an app account
Groclock is configured entirely on the clock and needs no app, account, or Wi-Fi. Its saved schedule runs without internet.
Connected Sleep Trainer requires the Tommee Tippee Smart App, an account, and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup. It supports remote changes while also retaining on-device controls.
Clock-time nap mode versus countdown and multiple alarms
Groclock stores separate night and daytime-nap end times. Each mode is manually activated, and the cue changes at the chosen time of day.
Connected supports wake and bedtime clock times, a nap countdown, and multiple named alarms. Tommee Tippee does not state that schedules can differ by day of week.
Both preserve information but stop without power
Groclock freezes its time and saved values during a power cut, so its clock falls behind by the outage duration. Connected preserves pairing and settings but is not documented to operate without mains power.
Connected's saved-schedule behavior without internet is not established. If guaranteed offline playback and editing are required, Groclock has the clearer control path.
Connected adds sounds; its subscription status is unconfirmed
Connected includes a sound machine, while Groclock does not. Groclock documents a display-off control; Tommee Tippee does not state that Connected has one.
Groclock's core cue requires no subscription. Tommee Tippee does not state whether a subscription applies to Connected, so it is not a confirmed match when a documented no-fee feature set is essential.
Choose by control and nap semantics
- Choose Groclock for account-free local controls and a second clock-time mode for naps.
- Choose Connected for remote changes, a countdown nap timer, multiple alarms, and built-in sounds.
- Neither provides operating battery backup, and both include a USB cable without a wall adapter.
At a glance
Not confirmed means a required-feature filter will not include that model.
| Feature | Tommee Tippee Groclock USB/Ollie display | Tommee Tippee Connected Sleep Trainer Connected |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | Set on the clock | App setup required |
| Starting a mode | A caregiver starts the selected mode | Scheduled routines with optional manual controls |
| Edit schedules without internet | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Caregiver app sharing | Caregivers use the clock’s physical controls; app invitations are not part of this setup. Check the exact button sequence and lock before handing over. This does not establish resistance to a child changing settings. | The US 42310710 product page establishes app control. Australian GroClock Connect support describes Share Device and Home/Room organization, but the same sharing permission is not established for this exact US code. We leave it out when you require app access for another caregiver. |
| Operating power | External power required | External power required |
| Power loss | Power loss freezes the clock and saved values; it does not keep time or operate until power returns, so a long outage leaves the displayed time behind by the outage duration. | The product is mains-powered. Pairing preserves settings through a power cut, but the clock is not documented to operate while power is absent. |
| Bedtime time | No | Yes |
| Nap countdown | No | Yes |
| Nap wake time | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Weekday / weekend | No | Not confirmed |
| Multiple daily cues | No | No |
| Saved cues without Wi-Fi | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Offline limits | No network required for the documented on-device functions. | Offline editing and playback limits are not confirmed. |
| Audible alarm | Yes | Yes |
| Sound machine | No | Yes |
| Silent visual cue | Yes | Yes |
| Display can turn off | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Child lock | Yes | Yes |
| Subscription for core cue | No | Not confirmed |
| Included parts | Groclock, 1.8 m micro-USB cable | Connected Sleep Trainer Clock, Micro-USB cable |
Manufacturer references
Material reviewed 2026-09-07. Specifications can vary by generation and region.